e MJS7006

Junior Road Safety annual awards

The annual Junior Road Safety Officer awards took place recently at Ayr Town Hall and it was the perfect opportunity for the Ayrshire Roads Alliance’s Road Safety Team to congratulate all the JRSO’s and their co-ordinators.

Throughout the year JRSO’s, who were selected from Primary 6 classes across South Ayrshire last August, have been running campaigns to improve road safety around their schools and raise awareness of road safety issues among their peers.

There were four awards categories at the special ceremony.

And the winners were:

JRSO ‘School of the Year’ 2018                      

Winner – Kirkmichael Primary School

2nd Place – Muirhead Primary School

3rd Place – Barassie Primary School


JRSO ‘Noticeboard of the Year’ 2018             

Winner - Annbank Primary School

2nd Place – Kirkmichael Primary School

3rd Place – Forehill Primary School


JRSO ‘Campaign of the Year’ 2018                

Winner – Muirhead Primary School

2nd Place – Fisherton Primary School

3rd Place – Annbank Primary School


JRSO ‘Co-ordinator of the Year’ 2018  

Winner – Jackie Brown, Kirkmichael Primary School

2nd Place – Karen Bruce, Muirhead Primary School

3rd Place – Angela Swan, Barassie Primary School

David Burns, Executive Manager, People’s Directorate, South Ayrshire Council congratulated all of the JRSO’s and presented prizes to the winners.


Councillor Ian Cochrane, South Ayrshire Council’s Portfolio Holder for Sustainability and the Environment said, “It’s great that we’re recognising all the hard work undertaken by the children and their co-ordinators. Road safety is such an important issue, and the children have been inspirational in raising awareness both with their fellow pupils and the wider community. I would like to congratulate the winners and everyone that took part.”

Notes to editors

Pic cap

JRSO annual awards